Tags

,

My husband and I went to Colorado over the July 4th weekend and it was absolutely gorgeous! I’m really surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

I’ve never considered myself to be the outdoorsy type of person, but lately, we’ve been getting back to nature. Andrew is (obviously) the one who suggests the outdoors to be incorporated in our vacations, and I’m so glad he does because I’m becoming exposed to the simpler things in life. I realize that vacations don’t have to be all hustle and bustle. It’s great just relaxing and taking in the sights and smells of everything around you.

Day 1 – We were in Denver and visited four breweries and one whiskey distillery: Wynkoop, Breckenridge, Stranahan’s, The Sandlot at Coors field (Blue Moon brewery) and Great Divide. Here’s a fun fact about Stranahan’s Whiskey packaging process: Each barrel is bottled by hand, with each label hand-signed by the volunteer who did it. The bottle that we bought from the distillery said, “Here’s to Fireworks.” We thought it was very appropriate seeing how it was July 4th!

day 1

Us at Breckenridge Brewery, Stranahan’s label, Andrew with whiskey barrels, Coors Field and all of the Blue Moon taps!

We saw the big Blue Bear at the Convention Center! Such a QT.

6

After a day of exploring, we had a little photoshoot downtown, courtesy of a friendly person walking by who offered to take our pics! This scarf is one of my favorite accessories.

flag

Kissing pic = Fireworks!

Day 2 – On our way to Estes Park, we made a pit stop to stretch our legs and hike through the Rocky Mountain National Park.

11

Rocky Meowtain National Park  #crazycatlady

14

Damn nature, you pretty!

hike

Made it to the waterfall at the top!

4:00 pm – Stopped off at the scenic Chapel on the Rock. We wanted to go inside, but someone was getting married!!! How beautiful!

15

We made it to Estes Park and checked into the iconic Stanley Hotel. (It was the inspiration for Stephen King’s The Shining.) Not going to lie, I was pretty scared staying here!!

hotel

Day 3 – We went Whitewater Rafting on Cache La Poudre River! It was the most fun we have ever had! I cannot wait to do it again!!!! Sadly, we don’t have any pics.

Day 4 – We spend the day driving on Trail Ridge Road in the Rocky Mountain National Park. I cannot even begin to describe how beautiful the scenery was or how obsessed I got with the smell of the pine trees. The whole day, we drove with the windows down because I couldn’t get enough of it! Also, whenever we were having a picnic, WE SAW A BEAR!!!!!!!!! I was so excited because I really really wanted to see one and had been talking about it nonstop!

22

27

Driving on Trail Ridge Road

1

Those pine trees.

2

Continental Divide of the Americas

Day 5 – We finished up the trip by driving through Fort Collins, Longmont and Boulder to go to a few more breweries: New Belgium, Scrumpy’s (cider brewhouse), Odell, Left Hand and Avery.

beer

Cider flight at Scrumpy’s, Avery beer tastings, flight of IPAs at Odell, Andrew pouring a beer at New Belgium and Stout flight at Left Hand

