Tags

Recipe: Carrot Salad with Chickpeas & Parsley

Last week, I was trying to eat a lot of lighter meals since we were leaving for Cancun in a few days (we were staying at an all-inclusive resort so I knew I would eat and drink a lot).

I made this salad and it was surprisingly filling… I guess because of the chickpeas?! Anyways, it was a really good. I didn’t use the chile paste that it called for, but I don’t think it needed it at all. This salad reminded me a lot of the Carrot & Raisin Salad from Chick-fil-A, which is now on my list of food to make since I found the recipe online!

Carrot Salad with Chickpeas and Parsley

Ingredients
Salad
– 3 large carrots–washed, dried and ends trimmed
– One 14.5-ounce can chickpeas, drained
– 1 cup parsley leaves, loosely packed

Dressing
– ⅓ cup extra-virgin olive oil
– 3 tablespoons harissa
– 1 tablespoon white-wine vinegar
– 1 lemon, zested and juiced
– 1 teaspoon ground cumin
– Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions
1. Shred the carrots using a box grater (as if you’re making coleslaw). Transfer the shredded carrots to a large bowl and toss with the chickpeas and parsley leaves.

2. In a small bowl, whisk the olive oil with the harissa to combine. Slowly add the vinegar and lemon juice. Stir in the lemon zest and cumin, then season with salt and pepper.

3. Add the salad dressing to the carrot mixture and toss to coat. Serve at room temperature or chilled (it will keep in the fridge for up to three days in an airtight container).

 

