Tags

, , , ,

My husband and I took a long weekend and drove up to West Texas last Tuesday. We went camping in Canyon and then visited my alma mater, Texas Tech, in Lubbock.

Andrew has been trying to get me to go camping for seven years now, and I finally agreed once I knew where he was wanting to go! I had never been camping before, so I figured if I had a miserable time, at least I knew that the weekend would turn out alright since we would be going to Raiderland after.

We camped at Palo Duro Canyon in Canyon, TX for two nights and I had a really really good time! During the day we went on a couple of hikes – the Lighthouse and the Sunflower Trail – and at night we cooked dinner using a dutch oven and hung out around the camp fire. We also made s’mores!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Palo Duro Canyon

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Campsite

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Sunflower Trail

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

The Lighthouse!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

The Lighthouse – so pretty!

After camping, we headed down to Lubbock! I was so so so so so excited to go back because I haven’t been in forever! Whenever I graduated in 2007, they had just begun construction on Marsha Sharp Freeway and now it was completed and things looked totally different, mainly around campus.

I took Andrew around to all of my favorite places, like Spanky’s (to get the fried cheese!!!!!), Caprock Cafe, Llano Estacado Winery, Red Raider Outfitters and a few bars on Broadway St. Lubbock has grown a lot since I left, so we checked out a new restaurant when we met up with a couple of my college friends Friday night!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Wedding wine! The winery where half of it came from (the other half was from College Station where Andrew went to school).

The absolute best time of the weekend was walking though Texas Tech campus and going to the Tech vs Oklahoma game. TTU is such a beautiful campus and it was great to be back. I was flooded with nostalgia and felt so proud as I was showing Andrew around. The game was so much fun too! I loved seeing the introduction of the Red Raiders, the Saddle Tramps, the Goin’ Band from Raiderland and especially the Masked Rider!! Everyone was so pumped the entire game, so it was awesome to end the weekend like that. RAIDER POWER!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

GUNS UP!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Will Rogers and Soapsuds wrapped for game day!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

TTU Dairy Barn

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Jones Stadium

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

The Saddle Tramps with Raider Red

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

The Masked Rider!!!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Goin’ Band from Raiderland! GO TECH!

Palo Duro Canyon & Lubbock 2016

Kickoff

